It’s the Weekend! Yippee (not)

What I mean to say is that the thrill is gone. Long, long gone. I can’t recall the last time I looked forward to a weekend. In the interest of full disclosure, I probably just can’t remember back that far.

For sure, it was a really long time ago. But at least as far back as I can recall, weekends have been filled with doing important stuff I simply didn’t have time for during the week.  Unless, of course, something actually important came  up to wipe out my weekend and push all that crap into next week, which put me back behind the 8-ball again.

I am no longer excited by weekends. Or holidays, for that matter.

Which makes it all that much better when I do stumble into a weekend with little or nothing hanging over my head. Like this one, for example. I am not busy editing anything, working out another promotion, or arranging another ‘personal appearance” (I haven’t done more than two this entire year and don’t intend to arrange any for next year).So after breakfast I plopped down into my easy chair and began to think about plotting out my next Terry Rankin novel. That , at least, is something I should be doing (as opposed to playing another hand of Solitaire).

Unfortunately, I didn’t give my characters a heads-up about this; they all had plans for the weekend and refused to change them. Terry’s wife, Cathy, in fact got downright snippy about it when I mentioned it to her.

So I’m here, in front of my computer, wondering what will happen if I just forge ahead and plot something out all by myself. But Cathy’s parting shot – just before she hung up on me, went something like this, “You go right ahead and try that, Showalter. Just keep in mind that we all know where you live.”

Well, I do have a few books on my Kindle I haven’t read, yet. Maybe today would be a really good day to start another novel; as long as it’s by someone else. Maybe their characters like them better.

 

About Gary Showalter

Gary Showalter was born in Honolulu, Hawaii. He lived in Aruba, Florida and the Panama Canal Zone before joining the U.S. Army during the 1960s. Following his discharge from the Army, Mr. Showalter picked cotton in East Texas, baled hay in Ardmore Oklahoma, sold light bulbs in Los Angeles, California, and built cattle pens in Fallon, Nevada (during a blizzard, of course). After settling in Atlanta, Georgia, Mr. Showalter worked as a professional gardener before turning his hand to furniture making. In 1981, he moved to Israel, married, and raised four children while working as a furniture maker, silversmith, goldsmith, and ornamental wood turner. He served in the Israel Defense Forces Reserves for sixteen years, and when not on active duty he worked in government and private security. He has also served in senior management positions in two software development companies in Israel. During his time in Israel, Mr. Showalter published articles dealing with international terror and the Israel-Arab conflict in the Jerusalem Post, Israel national News and several political science web sites. Mr. Showalter returned to the United States in the fall of 2003, to care for an elderly parent. He published his first novel, “The Big Bend”, in the fall of 2008. His second novel, “Hog Valley”, is now in print. Mr. Showalter's third novel, “Twisted Key”, was published in the fall of 2011, and his fourth novel, "Lonesome Cove" is now available in Kindle format and should be published in paper near the end of 2012. He currently lives in Deland, Fl, where he is co-authoring "A Silent Star" with Tony Attanasio. "A Silent Star" is the true tale (though novelized, with names changed for security reasons) about the 4-person covert action team sent into Yemen to capture Osama Bin laden immediately after the bombing of the USS Cole in the Aden harbor in Yemen in October of 2000.
This entry was posted in Books, Common Sense, eBooks, General Maundering, Life, and other stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.