Some days I wish I still pulled weeds for a living

At least I was outside. I was also hot, sweaty and tired, and my knees and back hurt. And the pay was lousy. But I was outside. Actually, that’s just about the only good thing I can say about pulling weeds for a living.

Nowadays I work indoors, with air conditioning, always on Internet access and a reasonably decent computer. But some days I really do wish I still pulled weeds for a living. Go figure.

I got an email from The Authors Show (www.TheAuthorsShow.com), letting me know I was now a finalist for their 3rd edition of “50 Great Writers You Should Be Reading. In case you are not aware, The Authors Show is the most popular internet radio station going. They interview authors in all genres and run the interviews on their radio station free of charge. It really is a big deal for authors, mainly because a lot of people (as opposed to authors) listen to these interviews.

So the 50 winners of the contest will be included in the finished book; the author’s bio, photograph, contact information and the author’s unique story. Inclusion gives the author a great deal of ‘street cred’ in the industry.

Public voting will begin on 2 November and run through the tenth of the month. Once the URL for the voting is available I will post it for you. Please do me a very big favor and take the time to vote; for me, if you don’t mind…

On another note, I am mere days away from completing my Rose Primer; there remain a very few pages of text left to type in and then it will be finished. I have decided to avoid the time required to photograph and edit any pictures and turn them into pencil sketches. Frankly it would double the time it will take to get this pamphlet-sized project published, so I have taken extra effort to make the text clear and concise.

I hope to have it available in early November. Some time after the upcoming election, anyway. What with the Presidential election and the voting for The Authors Show, squeezing out the time to edit and publish the Rose Primer won’t leave me much time for sleep.

And one final note about the 2nd of November; my 5-star novel, “The Big Bend”, will again be listed as free for download to your Kindle on the 2nd and 3rd of November.

TBB has 11 5-star reviews on Amazon, and that has bumped up the sales on the other three novels in the series. Here’s the URL for the Amazon Book page for the Kindle version:

http://www.amazon.com/The-Big-Bend-ebook/dp/B0035G0722/ref=sr_1_4?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1350926041&sr=1-4&keywords=gary+showalter

Please let your friends and family know about this. I won’t be giving away copies of this novel again any time soon.

Once I get this Rose Primer published I will begin working on the 5th novel in the Terry Rankin series. I’ve avoided even thinking about Terry and his friends for most of this year on purpose. Now I’m beginning to get some fresh ideas…

About Gary Showalter

Gary Showalter was born in Honolulu, Hawaii. He lived in Aruba, Florida and the Panama Canal Zone before joining the U.S. Army during the 1960s. Following his discharge from the Army, Mr. Showalter picked cotton in East Texas, baled hay in Ardmore Oklahoma, sold light bulbs in Los Angeles, California, and built cattle pens in Fallon, Nevada (during a blizzard, of course). After settling in Atlanta, Georgia, Mr. Showalter worked as a professional gardener before turning his hand to furniture making. In 1981, he moved to Israel, married, and raised four children while working as a furniture maker, silversmith, goldsmith, and ornamental wood turner. He served in the Israel Defense Forces Reserves for sixteen years, and when not on active duty he worked in government and private security. He has also served in senior management positions in two software development companies in Israel. During his time in Israel, Mr. Showalter published articles dealing with international terror and the Israel-Arab conflict in the Jerusalem Post, Israel national News and several political science web sites. Mr. Showalter returned to the United States in the fall of 2003, to care for an elderly parent. He published his first novel, “The Big Bend”, in the fall of 2008. His second novel, “Hog Valley”, is now in print. Mr. Showalter's third novel, “Twisted Key”, was published in the fall of 2011, and his fourth novel, "Lonesome Cove" is now available in Kindle format and should be published in paper near the end of 2012. He currently lives in Deland, Fl, where he is co-authoring "A Silent Star" with Tony Attanasio. "A Silent Star" is the true tale (though novelized, with names changed for security reasons) about the 4-person covert action team sent into Yemen to capture Osama Bin laden immediately after the bombing of the USS Cole in the Aden harbor in Yemen in October of 2000.
This entry was posted in Books, eBooks, The Business of Writing, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.