Update on “The Big Move”

 

Only it’s not a ‘Move’, exactly. It’s more like trash the old one, redirect the domain name and then build a brand new web site from scratch.

Unfortunately.

And it is a pain in my behind. But, as I mentioned in my last post, I was not given a great deal of choice in the matter. A few months ago I contemplated doing this very thing, but reconsidered after getting a few prices from hosting services and getting an idea of what would be involved in shifting my web site to a new host. I was unenthusiastic about the prices and downright staggered by all of the work involved.

I was right.

But I must say that Microsoft offered me such a nice deal  – with nasty implications if I failed to take them up on their lovely offer. Those nasty implications included finding another host for the web site, paying their monthly hosting fee, and still having to do all of the work by my lonesome. But their pricing was such I never even considered NOT taking the offer from Microsoft.

All things being equal, I am much better off staying with Microsoft for the hosting.

So this morning I began to build the web site. I’ve trimmed it down a bit, used ‘zones’ on a few of the pages for the sake of organization, and all in all the site is much better organized than the old one. So as of right now, all of the pages are there with buttons along the left side for navigation and I am reasonable satisfied with the look and feel.

But I can’t, for the life of me, figure out how to set up a blog on the site. So I posted a question to the techies, and I’m waiting on a response.

The domain name change should take effect in 24-hours from just about right now, and as soon as it does I’ll publish the web site and we’ll all get to take a look at it together.

Won’t that be exciting?

Not really, but I’m looking forward to it anyway.

So, if you would, say around three o’clock tomorrow afternoon (EST, that is), type www.garyshowalter.com into the URL bar at the top of your browser and give the web site a look-see. You can drop me a line at gary@garyshowalter.com and let me know what you think. Click through the pages and try to open one of the PDF files on the “Novels” page to see if it opens. I’ve got the first three chapters of my new novel, “Lonesome Cove” up there now…

Let me know, pretty please with sugar on, if something does not work.

About Gary Showalter

Gary Showalter was born in Honolulu, Hawaii. He lived in Aruba, Florida and the Panama Canal Zone before joining the U.S. Army during the 1960s. Following his discharge from the Army, Mr. Showalter picked cotton in East Texas, baled hay in Ardmore Oklahoma, sold light bulbs in Los Angeles, California, and built cattle pens in Fallon, Nevada (during a blizzard, of course). After settling in Atlanta, Georgia, Mr. Showalter worked as a professional gardener before turning his hand to furniture making. In 1981, he moved to Israel, married, and raised four children while working as a furniture maker, silversmith, goldsmith, and ornamental wood turner. He served in the Israel Defense Forces Reserves for sixteen years, and when not on active duty he worked in government and private security. He has also served in senior management positions in two software development companies in Israel. During his time in Israel, Mr. Showalter published articles dealing with international terror and the Israel-Arab conflict in the Jerusalem Post, Israel national News and several political science web sites. Mr. Showalter returned to the United States in the fall of 2003, to care for an elderly parent. He published his first novel, “The Big Bend”, in the fall of 2008. His second novel, “Hog Valley”, is now in print. Mr. Showalter's third novel, “Twisted Key”, was published in the fall of 2011, and his fourth novel, "Lonesome Cove" is now available in Kindle format and should be published in paper near the end of 2012. He currently lives in Deland, Fl, where he is co-authoring "A Silent Star" with Tony Attanasio. "A Silent Star" is the true tale (though novelized, with names changed for security reasons) about the 4-person covert action team sent into Yemen to capture Osama Bin laden immediately after the bombing of the USS Cole in the Aden harbor in Yemen in October of 2000.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Life, and other stuff, The Business of Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.