Monthly Archives: December 2011

Merry Christmas and a Happy new Year to Everyone

  Including Sir Timothy John Berners-Lee, who made this blog post possible in every meaning of the word. Berners-Lee is a British computer science professional who, while based at CERN in Geneva, pulled together the concepts of hypertext, Transmission Control … Continue reading

Posted in Computers and Internet, General Maundering, Life, and other stuff | Tagged ,

I bought a Kindle, and I feel like a traitor

  I’m not exactly sure what or who I might have betrayed, though.  Maybe I just feel like I’ve let my side down. But I’ve had my novels selling on both Kindle and Nook for about a year, and I … Continue reading

Posted in Books, Common Sense, eBooks | Tagged , ,

What I did with my weekend

  I have been an active member of the Clay County Writer’s Group here in Florida for a few years. I don’t make all of the meetings; there’s just too much to do with researching and writing and cleaning my … Continue reading

Posted in Common Sense, Life, and other stuff, The Business of Writing, Writing | Tagged , ,

I was Hit by a Nasty Piece of Malware this Morning

  It’s called Win 7 Internet Protection. It is accurately termed a ‘Shape Shifter’ because it will configure itself to whatever Operating System you are using. Nasty, because it does present itself as a new version of your Windows security … Continue reading

Posted in Software | Tagged

News Release

  Florida author Gary Showalter has announced the release of his third novel, ‘Twisted Key’. Showalter writes in the tradition of John D. MacDonald, Elmore Leonard, James Grippando and Carl Hiassen.  FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Florida Author Gary Showalter Announces Release … Continue reading

Posted in The Business of Writing | Tagged

“Lonesome Cove” update, and more

It’s been a busy week around here. Yesterday – I can’t remember any further back than yesterday, except for when I was three years old, and that’s not relevant to this story – I drove to Ocala for a photo … Continue reading

Posted in eBooks, The Business of Writing, Writing | Tagged ,