Authors I really admire

David Weber for his Honor Harrington series, Eric Flint for his Ring of Fire series, Bernard Cornwell for Richard Sharpe (thank you very much!), Dashiel Hammet for being Dashiel Hammet, John D. Macdonald for Travis McGee and the “Busted Flush”, Ed McBain for the 87th Precinct, Randy Wayne White for Doc Ford and his buddies, I.M.Sterling for thinking ahead of the pack, Michael McGarrity for liking the southwest as much as he does, Lee Child for his wonderful characters and interesting plots, C.J. Box for his Park Rangers, W.E.B. Griffin for just about everything he’s written, and so many more great writers that I have no idea why I bother putting pen to paper (so to speak).

My library is still sitting around in boxes, so I can’t come up with a comprehensive list, but it is a very long list. What I listed above is some of my favorite novelists and does not begin to list the historians and biographers I admire.

Truthfully, I would far rather read these guys and all the rest than spend a single hour rewriting my own stuff. But then again, I do love writing. And writers. I feel your pain…

And then I get a lovely email from my eye surgeon, who took “The Big Bend” with him on vacation. Along with with his wife and children. He read it in three days (I hope his wife will forgive me for that).

About Gary Showalter

Gary Showalter was born in Honolulu, Hawaii. He lived in Aruba, Florida and the Panama Canal Zone before joining the U.S. Army during the 1960s. Following his discharge from the Army, Mr. Showalter picked cotton in East Texas, baled hay in Ardmore Oklahoma, sold light bulbs in Los Angeles, California, and built cattle pens in Fallon, Nevada (during a blizzard, of course). After settling in Atlanta, Georgia, Mr. Showalter worked as a professional gardener before turning his hand to furniture making. In 1981, he moved to Israel, married, and raised four children while working as a furniture maker, silversmith, goldsmith, and ornamental wood turner. He served in the Israel Defense Forces Reserves for sixteen years, and when not on active duty he worked in government and private security. He has also served in senior management positions in two software development companies in Israel. During his time in Israel, Mr. Showalter published articles dealing with international terror and the Israel-Arab conflict in the Jerusalem Post, Israel national News and several political science web sites. Mr. Showalter returned to the United States in the fall of 2003, to care for an elderly parent. He published his first novel, “The Big Bend”, in the fall of 2008. His second novel, “Hog Valley”, is now in print. Mr. Showalter's third novel, “Twisted Key”, was published in the fall of 2011, and his fourth novel, "Lonesome Cove" is now available in Kindle format and should be published in paper near the end of 2012. He currently lives in Deland, Fl, where he is co-authoring "A Silent Star" with Tony Attanasio. "A Silent Star" is the true tale (though novelized, with names changed for security reasons) about the 4-person covert action team sent into Yemen to capture Osama Bin laden immediately after the bombing of the USS Cole in the Aden harbor in Yemen in October of 2000.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.