Adobe, et al

I like Adobe products. In fact, I own an old version of Adobe Photoshop. I think it’s version 7. I even still have the product key. The other day I started work on the book cover for “Hog Valley”. I’ve got a very nice digital photo of the painting done by an artist for the cover, so I needed to crop and resize it to fit the trim size of the finished book, which is 6” X 9” (I don’t write short stories, you know).

I thought about installing my old Photoshop software, but I decided to see what Adobe has come up with in the intervening years (more than a few years, actually). I’d looked at one of their Photoshop Collections about a year ago, and even downloaded and installed it, but it was just waaaay too massive for me to spend any time trying to figure it out.

But I am a bit of a geek, and I do love to play around with software. So this time I deliberately went looking for the latest and greatest of Adobe’s Collections. I actually had a valid reason this time, since I really did need to put that book cover together. As I mentioned earlier, I had downloaded and installed their CS4 Photoshop Collection, and lo and behold, here was CS5!. Wowie, zowie, that just had to be ever so much bigger and better than CS4, right?

Oooh, yeah. It took about two hours to download and another hour and a bit to install on my computer. At the end of it all, a brief message from the Adobe Installer told me that I had just installed 64-bit software on a 32-bit machine.

Not a very clever thing to do, boys and girls. I actually read the promo material on the Adobe site before I did this, too. And I didn’t see anywhere (that doesn’t mean it’s not there) where it said this was 64-bit architecture I was fooling with.

Oddly enough, It actually ran on my clunky old Pentium with 1 (only 1) gig of RAM. So I decided to push things and get the cover done before I uninstalled it. I got most of the work on the book cover done before my computer got the shakes and started hacking, coughing and wheezing and spewing bits and bytes all over my desktop.

It took me two days to clear the software off the hard drive, one file (and there are lots and lots of files in an Adobe Collection) at a time, since neither the Windows XP uninstaller nor the IObit advanced uninstaller were all that sure what they were supposed to do with the critter I was siccing them on.

My Registry cleaners and the IObit defragger were a big help, although the first five or six times I ran the defragger were absolutely painful to watch (think very cold molassas dripping down a wall).

But it’s all gone now, and I went right back to Adobe and downloaded the correct version of Photoshop Elements 8. This is a great piece of software (all Adobe products are very robust with lots of neat bells and whistles). It picked up right where I left off work with the 64-bit version and I was finished with the cover.

I am very pleased with the book cover, by the way.

Also a lot smarter. I am going to purchase that new version of Photoshop. Some day, real soon now.

About Gary Showalter

Gary Showalter was born in Honolulu, Hawaii. He lived in Aruba, Florida and the Panama Canal Zone before joining the U.S. Army during the 1960s. Following his discharge from the Army, Mr. Showalter picked cotton in East Texas, baled hay in Ardmore Oklahoma, sold light bulbs in Los Angeles, California, and built cattle pens in Fallon, Nevada (during a blizzard, of course). After settling in Atlanta, Georgia, Mr. Showalter worked as a professional gardener before turning his hand to furniture making. In 1981, he moved to Israel, married, and raised four children while working as a furniture maker, silversmith, goldsmith, and ornamental wood turner. He served in the Israel Defense Forces Reserves for sixteen years, and when not on active duty he worked in government and private security. He has also served in senior management positions in two software development companies in Israel. During his time in Israel, Mr. Showalter published articles dealing with international terror and the Israel-Arab conflict in the Jerusalem Post, Israel national News and several political science web sites. Mr. Showalter returned to the United States in the fall of 2003, to care for an elderly parent. He published his first novel, “The Big Bend”, in the fall of 2008. His second novel, “Hog Valley”, is now in print. Mr. Showalter's third novel, “Twisted Key”, was published in the fall of 2011, and his fourth novel, "Lonesome Cove" is now available in Kindle format and should be published in paper near the end of 2012. He currently lives in Deland, Fl, where he is co-authoring "A Silent Star" with Tony Attanasio. "A Silent Star" is the true tale (though novelized, with names changed for security reasons) about the 4-person covert action team sent into Yemen to capture Osama Bin laden immediately after the bombing of the USS Cole in the Aden harbor in Yemen in October of 2000.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.